Singer 6110 came into my life well… before I was born. Singer 6110 is older than I am.

Singer 6110

Interestingly enough, Singer 6110 was purchased by my mother in 1982 in this very state. That is interesting to me because my father was in the Navy and we’ve lived quite a few places. It may not be interesting to you. I sometimes live a sheltered life.

So, Singer 6110 has been around 26 years in this family. Singer 6110 became my sewing machine officially three years ago when my mom bought a new machine. A few months ago, I finally had it serviced and sliced up some fabric into squares for some attempts at this “sewing” deal. As a side note, rotary cutters are Way. Fun.

Let’s go back for just a moment, to the days of yore when I was a young thing and my mom was Way Into Crafting, Particularly Sewing. If you had asked me I would have told you mom HATED sewing. She always cursed at her projects. She complained about never being able to sew anything straight. (As a side note, she never owned a rotary cutter until a few years ago-probably would have made it Way Fun for her then). Long story short-that All Changed when the new machine came into her life (it’s a Brother, if you wonder). And thus beings my trials with Singer 6110.

They say all machines have a personality-I would have to agree. Singer 6110 is a man. A man that jerks you around, has sudden mood swings, and anger management issues. He snarls thread. He eats fabric. He bends his needles at a whim. It has been a nightmare trying to sew anything with Singer 6110. For example, the tension was too tight. One assumes that by adjusting the tension knob a bit might help fix the problem. In fact, it does not-it Makes It Worse. Which, by Singer 6110 standards, is Improvement!

Since I’m 98% sure that I am into this Sewing thing (the growing fabric stash seems to be an indicator) but I’m not yet ready to make a sewing machine purchase of Immense Proportions, I think I’m going to be looking into a small, somewhat inexpensive model to get me through the lean months and provide enough power for all I’m able to sew at the moment-straight lines. And someday, maybe someday, I can pass on This Future Machine to my daughter safe in the knowledge that it will not bring the kind of pain to her life that Singer 6110 has wrought upon that of my mother and I.