I may be back from the north, but I don’t have to like it. This July heat wave has me ready to pack and take a cruise to Antartica for some penguin sightseeing. Instead I stay, and I knit.

This post is number 100, and it’s roughly been a year since I began babbling about yarny, fiberish related goodness. Time sure does fly when you are all but not paying attention to it.

In light of all the recent reading related excitement, I should admit that I’ve already begun stacking up children’s books for the babysaurus. I really can’t help myself here. Hubs and I love to read and if there is nothing else I can pass on to my offspring, I hope it is this. Plus, Eric Carle is hands down one of my favorite people and I’ve been waiting for an excuse to stack up his tomes.

I know what I liked to read as a child, so what are your favorites?

Moving on to the knitting… because there are Things That Are Completed

Baby's First Hat

Pattern: Baby’s First Hat by Blue Sky Alpacas
Yarn: Used less than 1 skein each of Blue Sky Alpacas Organic Cotton in nut, sage, and bone
Needles: Size 4 DPNs

Baby Bolero

Pattern: Baby Bolero from One Skein
Yarn: 1 skein of Blue Sky Alpacas Organic Cotton in color #82
Needles: US 8 and 9 Addi Turbo 24″ circulars

And Things That Are In Progress

Lizard Ridge

Remember the Lizard Ridge? Yeah, so do I. I don’t know what’s going to happen with this guy next, whether more shades of Noro will be required or things will stay “as is”. This is back on the front burner, however.

Moderne Baby Blanket

A Moderne Baby Blanket from the Mason-Dixon Knitting book. A little over a year ago I was down and out, having just learned to knit but tired of scarves. This book and the Yarn Harlot’s blog are the reason I’m still in the fibery world today.
This is knit in Knit Picks Swish Superwash, obviously 4 colors. Progress on this is steady, as garter stitch can sometimes be tedious unless Netflix serves us up something good but there will be more info in the future.

Saddle shoulder sweater

I’m almost embarrassed to say this sweater has been sitting in this state since April. It only took a week or so to knit up once I figured out just what the hell I was supposed to be doing. All it needs is the neck ripped back and redone and hems.

Not Pictured: The latest sock, yet another Monkey. It seems I was a little overzealous with the delete key.

Thank you for the contributed suggestions regarding lace like fun. It seems I am not alone in such endeavors. The truth is I am in chart 3 of a shawl design, and I’ve not the good sense to snap a photo. Besides, lace progress shots are boring, yes? I will surprise you later, with a large bunch of yarn in a very blue hue.

